Now, Now… iAin’t a reading person, but after watching the Film “Precious” I was really intrigued to see what the Book was saying! So one day I went to HMV and iFound the book sitting there for £5. Its a good job I Brought it when iDid because iHaven’t seen it there SINCE! The film had me feeling all sorts of emotions, which is best left for another Blog post! But the Book is even deeper!

Things this girl has been through makes me THANKFUL for my life!

So iBrought the book! Don’t ask me why I was excited… I’m not a reading person… Reading the book made me feel intelligent. Because the language within the book isn’t perfect English… It’s written in American slang. So if you think its written in perfect English – You are VERY Mistaken! The book has more information than the film does, and it has more detail! And in some sense its more reliable. For example within the film Precious fingers her Mother… In the book Precious mother fingers Precious!

Many times I would be on the bus reading the book and had to stop – Look out the window – Hold on to my heart and say to myself “JESUS”. Things this girl has been through makes me THANKFUL for my life!

If Homo’s haven’t done anything to you then you have No reason to dislike them.

There’s a various number of things I really enjoyed about reading this book… One of them is her quotes about Homosexual’s. Where Precious is from she automatically is made not to like Homosexual’s but her teacher who helps her get her G.E.D (iThink that is the American GCSE’s) is an Homosexual and she tells Precious, If Homo’s haven’t done anything to you then you have No reason to dislike them. Which is really true! That quote has a lot of meaning in it. As Miss Rain (The Homosexual Teacher) Helped Precious get a place to stay and helped Precious get on her feet.

The one thing I didn’t like about the book is that near the end we read into the other characters life… Which is quite pointless! But all of them have had Hard lifes… It makes you wonder… Everyone Has a History!

I would advise any youth to get this book because its not that difficult to read, and you can relate to it. I would say read the book before you watch the film, so you don’t have Precious voice playing in your head when your reading the book LOL! But this book would take you on a Spiritual Journey and would have you appreciating life!

Everyone has a History!

