Drake’s new album “Take Care” released earlier this week. Despite of pushing the album back, the album still was anticipated for his fans. Originally the album was meant to be released on Drake’s birthday – October 25th, but because of sampling issues it was pushed back to November 15th. Despite of all of that, what did I think of Drake’s second album “Take Care”?

First of all I would like to say that I wasn’t feeling Drake with this era at all! The first single of the album “Headlines” was a track that didn’t get synced onto my iPod. “Marvin’s Room” made it onto my iPod however I found myself listening to JoJo’s version more. I was a big fan of Drake’s first album “Thank Me Later”. However I wasn’t feeling the same fire for “Take Care”.

A track that introduces the concept that this album is completely different to “Thank Me Later” is the track called “Shot for me”. This is clearly inspired by The Weekend. This track is defiantly something I would listen to while I’m drunk or backing a few shots. There are quite a few tracks on the album like this. As we all know with the depressing “Marvin’s Room”. Touching on “The Weekend” – whilst listening to this album all I kept saying to myself is: “Drakes been spending too much damn time with The Weekend”. I felt like I was listening to one of The Weekend’s mixtapes. I’m not saying that’s a bad thing but Drake brought something different to the game when he released his first album “Thank me Later” I was expecting more of that. However the track called “Crew Love” which features The Weekend himself is another favourite of the album.

However the whole album didn’t sound like The Weekend’s mixtapes. The Drake that I like is still in motion somewhere; with tracks like “Take Care” which features Rihanna is one of my favourites on the album! Rihanna takes a laid back approach on this track with some heartfelt lyrics such as:

“I Know you’ve been hurt by someone else, I can tell by the way you carry yourself”

This is the side of Drake that I like. Another big track which is everybody’s favourite “Make Me Proud” which features Nicki Minaj. Once again all I can say is that this is the Drake that I enjoy! Drake has various features on the album. However the track “Doing It Wrong” which features Stevie Wonder is a track that made me say “This is Good Music” when I listened to it.

The Deluxe Edition tracks are some of my favourites “The Motto” which features Lil’ Wayne. (There is a lot of Wayne on the album) Is a track that could be an anthem and will defiantly be a Club Anthem! The Deluxe edition ends the album with a track called “Hate Sleeping Alone”. This track just reminds me of why I am a fan of Drake’s music! Check out the lyrics:

“I say I’d rather be with you but you are not around. So I’mma call somebody up and see if they be down. Cause I hate sleeping alone, I hate sleeping alone”

This will be Gospel to some boy’s ears.

Overall I would have to say that Drake’s “Take Care” is a Grower. I had to give it a few listens before I decided to dump it in my recycle bin. I felt that Drake was experimenting with a lot of different sounds with this album, but my favourite sound from Drake is what I hear on “Make Me Proud”, “The Motto” and a Bit of “Crew Love”.

PLEASE DON’T FORGET THAT I AM NOW WRITING FOR TRUE EXCLUSIVES!! Catch all my Music Articles over there!

